05-10-2008 0:00


The SGAE Nova Autoria Awards go to the short films 'Eyja' and 'Restaurando a Héctor'

Students from the Centre d'Estudis Cinematogràfics de Catalunya (Eyja) and Pompeu Fabra University (Restaurando a Héctor), will receive the 2008 SGAE Nova Autoria Awards. The official award-giving ceremony will be on Saturday October 11, at the closing gala of the 41st edition of the Sitges - International Film Festival of Catalonia 2008. This is the first time the same audiovisual production has won two SGAE Nova Autoria Awards.

For the eighth year running, the Societat General d'Autors i Editors (SGAE), the Fundació Autor and the Institut Buñuel, along with the International Film Festival of Catalonia, have organized the  SGAE Nova Autoria Awards which were born with a desire to promote and help publicize new audiovisual productions made by film school students from around Catalonia. These Awards, shaped as a window to discover the talent of the audiovisual creators of the future, are in collaboration and complicity with the main Catalan film schools.  

This year the SGAE Nova Autoria Awards have gone to students from the Centre d'Estudis Cinematogràfics de Catalunya (CECC) and Pompeu Fabra University (UPF). The official award-giving ceremony will be on Saturday October 11th at 19:30, in the Hotel Melià Auditorium - Sitges, during the closing gala of the International Film Festival of Catalonia.

The 2008 SGAE Nova Autoria Awards jury, made up of Albert Guinovart, composer, pianist and member of the SGAE Board of Directors; Albert Espinosa, playwright, director and screenwriter; Roser Aguilar, director, producer and screenwriter; and Àngel Quintana, film critic and professor at the University of Girona, have decided to give:

*The 2008 SGAE Nova Autoria Award for best direction-production to «Eyja», presented by the Centre d'Estudis Cinematogràfics de Catalunya (CECC), made by Dögg Mósesdóttir.

* The 2008 SGAE Nova Autoria Award for best screenplay to «Restaurando a Héctor», presented by Pompeu Fabra University (UPF), written by Dea Pompa.

*  The 2008 SGAE Nova Autoria Award for best original music to «Eyja», presented by the  Centre d'Estudis Cinematogràfics de Catalunya (CECC), composed by Hilmar Örn Hilmarsson and Örn Eldjàrn.

Through these awards, the SGAE, the Fundació Autor, the Institut Buñuel and the International Film Festival of Catalonia offer emerging creators a possibility to exhibit their works and make them known to the general public within the framework of an event of international scope.





17-10-2021 22:00


Sitges 2021 Pays Tribute to Carlos Saura at Its Closing Ceremony and Premieres His Short Film 'Goya 3 de mayo'

'Silent Night', winner of the audience award in the Official Fantastic Section The Festival sold mo...

16-10-2021 14:40


Sitges 2021 Winners: 'Lamb', Sitges 2021 Best Feature Lenght Films


15-10-2021 18:10


Sitges Heads into its Final Stretch with the Time Machine Award presented to Neill Blomkamp

The Festival increases its theater's seating capacity to 100% starting this Friday, October 15thB...

14-10-2021 12:00


The Spanish Premiere of Rob Savage's 'DASHCAM', Surprise Film at Sitges 2021

The director of the highly acclaimed 'Host' from 2020 returns to Sitges with his third film, DASHC...

14-10-2021 16:45


Alice Krige and Nick Antosca, Presented With the Sitges 2021 Time Machine Award

The directors of 'Luzifer' (Peter Brunner) and 'Sound of Violence' (Alex Noyer) visit Sitges to p...

12-10-2021 20:50


Sitges reaches its halfway point with the Norwegian horror of 'The Innocents'

Once again today, Spanish national cinema takes center stage with the presentation of the horror...

11-10-2021 11:30


The Sitges Film Festival Joins Profestivales21

During the Sitges Festival, the world's number one fantastic film festival, it announced that it is...

11-10-2021 19:15


Michael Myers Returns to Sitges on the Day of the World Premiere of 'El Páramo (The Beast)'

'Beyond the Infinite Two Minutes', 'Limbo' and 'Eight for Silver', among the featured films for t...

10-10-2021 19:15


The Grand Honorary Award presented to Mamoru Hosoda and Phil Tipett's demential 'Mad God' place animation at the epicenter of Sitges

Filmmakers Rodrigo Sorogoyen, Paula Ortiz, Rodrigo Cortés and Paco Plaza presented their f...

09-10-2021 20:40


Alex de la Iglesia's Venice Gone Mad and Noomi Rapace's Violent Love Shake Up Sitges' First Saturday

The start of the long weekend came packed with extreme offerings like the raw violence in the Kiw...

08-10-2021 20:30


Sitges Presents the WomanInFan Initiative on a Day Marked by the World Premiere of 'Visitante'

A busy day on the Red Carpet this Friday, with the presence of the crews from 'The Execution', 'V...

07-10-2021 19:45


Belén Rueda and Ana Lily Amirpour, Stars of Sitges 2021's Opening Day

The red carpet is all decked out to kick off the Festival's 54th edition with the presence of the...

05-10-2021 12:20



From October 7th to 17th, Sitges will once again be witness to the very latest in worldwide fantasti...

30-09-2021 11:00


Sitges Bites Harder Than Ever

The latest from Ben Wheatley, Ana Lily Amirpour, Alex de la Iglesia, Julia Ducournau, Neill Blomkamp...

30-09-2021 11:00


Guests attending Sitges 2021

AWARD WINNERS Grand Honorary Award Carlos Saura (director) Mamoru Hosoda (director) Belén Ru...