11-10-2014 13:30


'I Origins', 'The Babadook' and 'Cub' win at a Sitges Film Festival that?s been more fantastic than ever

I Origins, by Mike Cahill, picked up the award for best feature length film in the 2014 Sitges Official Fantàstic Category. The jury also gave Special Award to The Babadook, by Jennifer Kant, while Cub, by Jonas Govaerts, won the award for best direction. This year’s awards were very widely shared, rewarding the Festival’s fantastic profile.

The award for best cinematography went to Carter Smith’s Jamie Marks is Dead. The award for best actress was a tie and went to Julianne Moore for her role in Maps to The Stars by David Cronenberg, and Essie Davis for The Babadook. The award for best actor was also a tie and it went to Nathan Phillips for These Finals Hours, by Zak Hilditch and Koji Yakusho for The World of Kanako, by Tetsuya Nakashima. 

The award for best screenplay went to Young Ones, by Jake Paltrow and the one for best special effects, to The Signal, by William Eubank. Oscar desafinado, by Mikel Alvariño, picked up the award for best short film. 

The movies Pos eso, by Sam, What We do in the Shadows, by Taika Waititi and Jemaine Clement, A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night, by Ana Lily Amirpour and Spring, by Justin Benson and Aaron Moorhead all received special mention.


Official Fantàstic 47 Category

Best Feature Length Film Award: I ORIGINS, by Mike Cahill. 

Special Jury Award: THE BABADOOK, by Jennifer Kent.

Award for Best Direction (sponsored by Gas Natural Fenosa): CUB, by Jonas Govaerts.



Best Actor Award (sponsored by Autolica – Mercedes Benz):  

Nathan Phillips for THESE FINAL HOURS, by Zak Hilditch.

Koji Yakusho for THE WORLD OF KANAKO, by Tetsuya Nakashima.

Best Actress Award: 

Essie Davis for THE BABADOOK, by Jennifer Kent.

Julianne Moore for MAPS TO THE STARS, by David Cronenberg. 

Best Screenplay Award: YOUNG ONES, by Jake Paltrow.

Best Cinematography Award: JAMIE MARKS IS DEAD, by Carter Smith.

Best Special Effects Award: THE SIGNAL, by William Eubank. 

Best Short Film Award (sponsored by Fotogramas): OSCAR DESAFINADO, by Mikel Alvariños.


Special Mention: 

POS ESO, by Sam. 

WHAT WE DO IN THE SHADOWS, by Taika Waititi and Jemaine Clement.


SPRING, by Justin Benson and Aaron Moorhead. 


Grand Audience Award (sponsored by El Periódico de Catalunya) (Official In Competition Fantàstic Category)

Best Feature Length Film Award (by popular vote among Festival filmgoers): WHAT WE DO IN THE SHADOWS, by Taika Waititi and Jemaine Clement. 


Official Fantàstic Òrbita Category Awards

Best Feature Length Film Award: HYENA, by Gerard Johnson.

Award for Best Direction: COLD IN JULY, by Jim Mickle.

Special Mention: ’71, by Yann Demange.


Official Fantàstic Panorama Category Awards

Best Feature Length Film Award: THE TREATMENT, by Hans Herbots.

Special Mention: CREEP, by Patrick Brice.


Mèlies d’Argent Awards

Best Feature Length Film Award: GOODNIGHT MOMMY, by Veronika Franz and Severin Fiala.

Best Short Film Award: AUTUMM HARVEST, by Fredrik S. Hana. 


José Luis Guarner Awards

Best Feature Length Film Award as selected by critics: RÉALITE, by Quentin Dupieux.

Critics’ Special Mention: GOODNIGHT MOMMY, by Veronika Franz and Severin Fiala.


Citizen Kane Award

Best Up-And-Coming Director Award: A GIRL WALKS HOME ALONE AT NIGHT, by Ana Lily Amirpour.

Special Mention: WHEN ANIMALS DREAM, by Jonas Alexander.


Noves Visions Awards

Best Feature Length Fiction Film Award: HAN GONG-JU, by Lee Su-jin.

Best Feature Length Non-Fiction Film Award: NON-FICTION DIARY, by Jung Yoon-suk.

Special Mention: THE DUKE OF BURGUNDY, by Peter Strickland.


Focus Àsia 

Best Feature Length Film Award: MAD SAD BAD, by Han Ji-seung, Kim Tae-yong and Ryoo Seung-wan.

Special Mention: HWAYI: A MONSTER BOY, by Jang Joon-hwan.


Anima’t Awards

Best Feature Length Animated Film Award: THE SATELLITE GIRL AND MILK COW, by Chang Hyung-yun.

Best Animated Short Film Award: PINEAPPLE CALAMARI, by Kasia Nalewajka. 

Special Mention: DINNER FOR FEW, de Nassos Vakalis.


Brigadoon Paul Naschy Award

Award for Best Fantastic Short Film presented in this category: LINE UP, by Àlex Julià.


Carnet Jove Awards

Award for Best Feature Length Film from the Official Fantàstic Category: 


CUB, by Jonas Govaerts.

Award for Best Feature Length Film from the Midnight X-Treme Category: THE HOUSES OCTOBER 

BUILT, by Bobby Roe.

Emergents Award: AMOR ETERNO, by Marçal Forés.

Experimenta Award: THE TRIBE, by Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy.


Phonetastic Sitges Mobile Film Festival Awards

Best Short Film Award: SECTOR ZERO 4, by Alfonso García López.

Audience Award: INTRUSOS, by Iván Mourin.


Blood Window Award

THE STRANGER, by Guillermo Amoedo. 


 SGAE Nova Autoria 

Award for Best Direction – Production: PUÑO Y METAL, by Víctor Alonso Berbal, from Pompeu Fabra University. 

Best Screenplay Award: DINOSAURIOS, by Joaquim Barceló, from Ramon-Llull-Blanquerna Comunicació University. 

Best Original Music Award: PILATO, PILATO, by Alain Gómez Reglá and Luis Daniel Gónzalez, from the Bande à part Film School, directed and with screenplay by Roberto Russo. 


Sitges Cine365 Film Award

Gerardo Herrero and Carles Torrens.


FOTO 1: Mike Cahill, I Origins director

FOTO 2: I Origins





12-02-2019 13:00


Argentina is full of cinema from Sitges

Different films selected for the Sitges Festival will be screened in Pinamar and Buenos Aires Once...

16-01-2019 11:30


Sitges travels to CinemaAttic in Scotland

A selection of fantastic short films can be seen at the festival This week the Scottish film compet...

16-10-2018 09:00


The Sitges Festival consolidates its growth

Sitges 2018 increased its ticket sales by 1.02%, which adds up to a 15.27% increase over the last fi...

13-10-2018 14:15


The exciting and provocative 'Climax' wins at Sitges 2018

The Special Jury Award goes to ‘Lazzaro Felice’, which also wins the Critics’ Awar...

13-10-2018 20:20


M. Night Shyamalan & John Carpenter bring Sitges 2018 to a golden finale

The screening of ‘2001: A Space Odyssey brings eleven days of cinema, encounters and exhibitio...

12-10-2018 11:20


The traditional Surprise Marathon reveals its films

‘Bad Times at the El Royale’, ‘Illang: The Wolf Brigade’ and ‘Victor C...

12-10-2018 18:00


Ed Harris' charm seduces Sitges' audience

‘Halloween’ and ’70 Binladens’ steal the limelight in the Official Selection...

11-10-2018 19:15


Sitges surrenders to Peter Weir's legend

‘Overlord’, ‘Superlópez’ and ‘The Year of the Plague’ are...

10-10-2018 18:25


The 2018 Méliès d'or Award to be presented at the Sitges Festival

‘Climax’, ‘Clanker Man’ and director Álex de la Iglesia are award win...

10-10-2018 16:00


Asian cinema has its biggest day in Sitges

Sergi López returns to the Festival to present the fantastic fable ‘Happy as Lazzaro'...

09-10-2018 19:30


The fantastic fable and adrenaline coexist at Sitges 2018

?Happy as Lazzaro? and ?Nancy? bring polyhedral visions to the Official Selection, while ?Dragged Ac...

08-10-2018 20:00


'The Walking Dead' and 'The House that Jack Built' are huge sensation at Sitges 2018

Binge, the VOD platform using blockchain technology, celebrate their sponsorship agreement with the...

07-10-2018 20:00


Series shine at Sitges 2018

The Festival acknowledges the life achievement of actresses Josie Ho and Helga Liné The worl...

06-10-2018 20:20


Young creators from Bande à Part, the UPF and ECIB pick up the 2018 SGAE Nueva Autoría Awards

The awards for best direction-production, best screenplay and best original music are part of the No...

06-10-2018 22:10


The Nicolas Cage myth gets real in Sitges

The premieres of ‘Mandy’, ‘Asher’ and ’Summer of 84’ are the fea...

05-10-2018 20:20


Ron Perlman & Pam Grier bring action and complicity to the Festival

'Apostle', 'La Sombra de la Ley' (Gun City) and 'Climax' were the three Official Selection options...